Applications for 2017 sought…

Applications for 2017 screen-shot-2016-09-09-at-3-23-31-pmare now being sought – forms are available from the Hagley College site –

Comments Off on Applications for 2017 sought…

Leslie McKay wins Caselberg Trust Poetry Prize

Congratulations to graduate, Leslie McKaylogo2-2 for winning the 2016 Caselberg Trust Poetry Prize – a great month for Hagley with Gail Ingram taking out the NZPS poetry prize as well.

Comments Off on Leslie McKay wins Caselberg Trust Poetry Prize

National Poetry Day celebrations…

We had a fantastic turnout, over 90 people, at our Phantom 2016-08-27 23.08.45Billstickers National Poetry Day celebrations at Scorpio Bookshop on Friday 26 August. Thanks to our wonderful readers, Frankie McMillan, Bernadette Hall, Owen Marshall, Christina Stachurski, Rose Collins, Teoti Jardine, Jeni Curtis and Marisa Cappetta. And huge congratulations to the winner of our competition, Danielle O’Halloran and Sile Mannion, the runner – up. James Norcliffe did a great job of judging with over 120 poems submitted. A marvellous response all round. Photos  show the crowd at Scorpio and winner Danielle O’Halloran and
director, Morrin Rout with the winning poem which has been published as a poster by Phantom Billstickers2016-08-27 23.09.14


Comments Off on National Poetry Day celebrations…

Huge success at National Flash Fiction Day…

Congratulations to all the Hagley writers who triumphed at the National Flash Fiction Day celebrations. Nod Ghosh and Linda Moser who were second and third respectively in the competition, Sam Averis highly commended for his 2 stores, Gail Ingram commended for hers and Wade Bishop, Sue Kingham, Tracey Peterson, Marie McGuigan all in the long list. There were also Hagley writers in the SIWA competition – Lucy Jane Walsh won and Celine Gibson was third. And of course I need to acknowledge the wonderful work of Hagley graduate, Brindi Joy with Sam Averis and others in organising such an entertaining and enjoyable evening

Comments Off on Huge success at National Flash Fiction Day…


Hagley Writers’ Institute is gaining a reputation for producing top-class flash fiction writers – again in this year’s shortlist for the 2016 NZ Flash Fiction competition we have 4/10 of the entries. Congratulations to Sam Averis for his 2 shortlisted stories and to Nod Ghosh and Linda Moser.

We have a significant presence in the long list as well. This year there were over 500 entries so getting long listed was a great achievement. Congratulations to Tracey Peterson, Sue Kingham, Gail Ingram, Wade Bishop and Marie McGuigan.

We are looking forward to the celebration on Wed 22 June when the winners will be revealed. Many Hagley graduates will be participating in this and it will be MC’ed by the Director, Morrin Rout.


Nod Ghosh interviews Frankie McMillan

Hagley graduate, Nod Ghosh has just publishedFrankie a fascinating and insightful interview with Hagley tutor, Frankie McMillan on her website – you can read it here.

Comments Off on Nod Ghosh interviews Frankie McMillan

Welcome to our 2016 students…

We are looking forward to welcoming our new students to the 2016 Writers’ Institute programme. The day will start with morning tea at 9.30am on Saturday 13 February and then students will spend the rest of the morning in their tutorial groups.

Comments Off on Welcome to our 2016 students…

Graduation 2015

Congratulations to all our graduates in 2015. And especially to the award winners and runners up.

Year 1 – Margaret Mahy Award – joint winners – Isabelle McNeur and Chris Stewart.                                                                                Runners up – Sile Mannion and Mark Sanders

Year 2 – Margaret Mahy Award – Angela Brett.                            Runner up – Rose Jenson

Comments Off on Graduation 2015

Late applications welcome…

Applications for 2016 are still being accepted – please email the Director, Morrin Rout, or phone 033299789, mob: 0210464189 if you want any further information or to have an application form emailed to you.

Comments Off on Late applications welcome…

Bernadette Hall is awarded the 2015 Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Poetry

We are delighted to learn that our patron, Bernadette Hall has beenthumb_213.33333333333213.33333333333226234240Profile named as the 2015 recipient of the Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Poetry. Bernadette was one of the founders of the Hagley Writers’ Institute and a long-term tutor and supervisor. We congratulate her on this prestigious award, a well deserved recognition of her literary talent and outstanding contribution to NZ poetry.

Comments Off on Bernadette Hall is awarded the 2015 Prime Minister’s Literary Award for Poetry