Bernadette Hall

Bernadette Hall is a nationally recognised award-winning writer, thumb_213.33333333333213.33333333333226234240Profilebest know for her poetry. Her sixth collection, Settler Dreaming, was short listed for the Tasmania Pacific Poetry Award in 2003. In 2007 she spent six months in Ireland on the Rathcoola Fellowship. The Lustre Jug, published in 2009 was short listed for the 2010 NZ Book Awards and her latest collection of poetry, Life and Customs has just been published.  She has also established a strong reputation as an editor and as a writer of essays, short stories and critical reviews. She has taught at the International Institute of Modern Letters at Victoria University and was involved in the founding of the Hagley Writers’ Institute in 2008 and tutored on the course for the first three years. She is still very involved as a tutor and mentor of students at the Writers’ Institute and this year is back as a tutor filling in for Frankie McMillan. She was named as a Member of the NZ Order of Merit in the 2017 New Year’s Honours list.


Morrin Rout

Morrin Rout has been producer/presenter of literary programs on National Radio and MorrinPlains FM for nearly twenty years. During that time, she has interviewed many leading international literary figures as well as a significant number of New Zealand’s best known writers. She was involved in the organisation of the Listener Women’s Book Festival, as Literary Programme Co-Ordinator for the Christchurch Arts Festival, as a former Chairperson of the Christchurch Book Festival Trust and as a judge for the 2007 Montana NZ Book Awards. She was one of the Programme Co-ordinators for the Christchurch Writers’ Festival for many years and has extensive contacts with publishers, book sellers and the writing community both here and overseas


Frankie McMillan

Frankie McMillan is a poet and short story writer who lives inFrankie Christchurch. She is the author of The Bag Lady’s Picnic and other stories and two poetry collections, Dressing for the Cannibals  and There are no horses in heaven.  In 2009 she won first prize in the New Zealand Poetry Society International Poetry Competition.  In both 2013 and 2015 she was the winner of the New Zealand Flash Fiction Award.  Frankie McMillan was awarded the Creative New Zealand Todd New Writers’ Bursary in 2005 and held the Ursula Bethell residency at the University of Canterbury in 2014. Her latest book, My Mother and the Hungarians and other small fictions (CUP) was published in August 2016 and was  long listed for the 2017 Ockham Book Awards. She spent 6 months in residence at the Michael King Centre in Auckland in 2017.

Christina Stachurski

An award winning playwright and theatre director, Christina has been involved in theatre from an early age, also as Christina Stachurskian actor, stage manager and designer, and producer of outdoor Shakespeare for the Christchurch City Council’s SummerTimes (1993/4). Her M.A. is in New Zealand drama and her doctorate in New Zealand fiction focuses upon issues of ethnic identity. She has been a visiting lecturer at the Christchurch College of Education, and taught creative writing for Continuing Education, the School for Young Writers and the Books & Beyond Festival. Christina has also acted a guest poetry editor for Takahe, one-act play festival adjudicator and judge of the secondary schools’ Peter Smart Poetry Competition. She very much enjoyed her time as Writer in Residence at Hagley College in 2006. At present, she teaches Modern Drama and Creative Writing at the University of Canterbury. Christina will be teaching Year 2 in 2015.


Kerrin P Sharpe

Kerrin P. Sharpe completed Bill Manhire’s Original Composition class at Victoria University of Wellington in 1976.  Over the last two years she has been published widely, including in Best New Zealand Poems 08,09 and 2010, Turbine 07, 09 and 10, SnorkelBravadoTakaheNZ ListenerPoetry NZJuncturesSport and The Press. In 2008, she was awarded the New Zealand Post Creative Writing Teacher’s Award by the International Institute of Modern Letters. She has had 3 collection of poems  published by Victoria University Press – Three Days in a Wishing Well, There’s a Medical Name for This and Rabbit, Rabbit. Kerrin has had poems in the Best of the Best NZ Poems and was selected for Oxford Poets 2013: An Anthology.

Coral Atkinson

Coral Atkinson is a fiction writer. She has written novels and her short fiction has appeared in a range of publications in New Zealand and Ireland. Her first book, The Love Apple (2005), was a bestseller. Atkinson says, ‘I have forged a style in my writing that draws on two traditions – New Zealand and Ireland.’ Her second novel, The Paua Tower, was published in 2006. She has also published a young adult book ‘Copper Top’ and is a experienced and respected publisher and tutor for the Whitereia Publishing Course.

Jane Higgins

Jane Higgins was a graduate of the first intake of the HagleyHigginsJF Writers’ Institute and the joint winner of the Margaret Mahy Award for best portfolio. She is a social researcher at Lincoln University, specialising in projects with teenagers. She has worked on many human rights campaigns and is interested in astronomy, mathematics and classic science fiction. She won the Text Prize for Young Adult and Children’s Writing for her first novel, The Bridge which was the Children’s Choice award for YA fiction and and Honour Award at the NZ Post Children’s Book awards in 2012. The sequel, Havoc was published in 2014.


Tania Roxborough

Tania Roxborogh is a children’s writer whose works range fromthumb_213.33333333333213.33333333333226234240Profile teaching resources to gritty young adult novels. Roxborogh has worked as a high school English and drama teacher since 1989, and her first published work was a drama handbook. Her stories for young adults deal with the anxieties and problems of teenagers in an engaging, realistic manner. In 2006, she was a Writer in Residence at the Dunedin College of Education. Her novel, Bastion Point, won the children’s fiction prize at the 2017 NZ Children’s Book Awards.

Joanna Orwin

Joanna Orwin writes books for children. She has a background inthumb_213.33333333333213.33333333333226234240Profile-2 ecology and science editing and her stories often focus on New Zealand flora and fauna. She also draws extensively on Maori mythology and her interest in New Zealand’s cultural heritage. Orwin won the Children’s Book of the Year Award for The Guardian of the Land (1985), and Owl (2001) was the Senior Fiction category winner for the 2002 New Zealand Post Children’s Book Awards.

James Norcliffe

James Norcliffe is an award-winning poet and educator, as well asc3ebdad26ea1cc7ffff8026ffffd524 an author of children’s books. He has been awarded the 2012 University of Otago College of Education’s Writer in Residence, and has been recipient of the 2006 Fellowship at Iowa University and the 2000 Robert Burns Fellowship at Otago University.

Tusiata Avia

Tusiata Avia is a poet, performer and children’s book writer. Known for her dynamic performance style, she has written and performed a one-woman poetry show, Wild Dogs Under My Skirt, which toured between 2002-2008 in Moscow, Jerusalem and Vienna, as well as destinations closer to home. Tusiata has held a number of residencies including the Fulbright Pacific Writer’s Fellowship at University of Hawaii, and the Ursula Bethel Writer in Residence at University of Canterbury. She was the 2013 recipient of the Janet Frame Literary Trust Award. Her latest collection, Fale Aitu (Victoria University Press, 2016) was shortlisted for the 2017 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.



Both comments and pings are currently closed.